top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnniina Nummela

Check-out Virtual Exhibition now open!

Updated: Apr 8, 2021

Non-reality is calling for you! When things get unbearable, we tune into escapism and let it comfort us. What are your ways of keeping reality away?


Check-Out has been a few months in the making and the virtual exhibition is now up and open! Due to the restrictions of COVID-19, our physical exhibition has been pushed back until the autumn of this year - but up until then you can enjoy the art and read about the artists in virtual form.


I, along with the rest of the management team, have worked hard and are proud of the exhibition we've put together. Go see my work Backstreet and several other fantastic escapist works here: http://tamkfineartcep.com/

Backstreet 2021 | Fine-liner pen on paper | 42.5 X 59.5 cm Backstreet is a self-portrait that explores the artist’s personal connection to music.

The artwork is made from the lyrics of 40 different Backstreet Boys songs written in uniform lines, where the gaps in-between letters and words form the shape of the artist’s portrait.

“I’ve been listening to the Backstreet Boys for as long as I’ve been listening to music.

I really cannot say why I began to listen to their music so much, besides the fact that it made me feel comfortable, safe, and happy. It is music that I learned I could listen to when I’m at my happiest, and sometimes the only thing that makes me feel better when I’m at my worst. Somewhere along the way it became a lifeline for me that has always been there when I needed it.

I made this work as a form of meditation and as a reminder to myself of how important this music is to me and my well-being.”

The work is also a thank you. The last line of the artwork reads:

“Backstreet Boys, thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for making the music you have. Your music has been a cornerstone for me for as long as I’ve been listening to music – it’s irreplaceable.”

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page